bio| recordings | management | Performances, reviews | comments | gallery | Educational & children' projects

The members of Aureole are Laura Gilbert, flute, Mary Hammann, viola, and Stacey Shames, harp.Their concerts and recordings also include a wide variety of popular and folk music from the Celtic, Latin, Indian, Baroque and Classical traditions. Inspired by the combination, some of the most imaginative and creative musicians and composers of our time -- Ravi Shankar, George Tsontakis, Jacob Druckman and Roberto Sierra-- have masterfully composed and arranged for Aureole. The repertoire also includes many significant and powerful works by Twentieth Century composers, including Claude Debussy, Sofia Gubaidulina, Sir Richard Rodney Bennett, Sir John Tavener, Toru Takemitsu, Harrison Birtwistle and Kaiji Saariaho.

Takemitsu: Towards the Sea III

buy it on

Koch 2001

  • 1. And then I knew 'twas wind, for flute, viola & harp
    Composed by Toru Takemitsu

  • 2. Itinerant, for flute
    Composed by Toru Takemitsu

  • 3. Masque I, for 2 flutes
    Composed by Toru Takemitsu

  • 4. Le fils des étoiles, Chaldean pastoral, preludes and incidental music for piano
    Composed by Erik Satie

  • 5. Toward the Sea III, for alto flute & harp
    Composed by Toru Takemitsu

  • 6. Eucalypts I, for flute, oboe, harp & strings
    Composed by Toru Takemitsu
    with Robert Ingliss

  • 7. Air, for solo flute
    Composed by Toru Takemitsu

copyright© 2008 Aureole trio